Protestant Community Centre

CULTURE

The key idea behind this draft is that of a community centre combined with the existing facilities of the church community. It will be an open, inviting centre that is designed to blend into the urban neighbourhood instead of competing with the structures on Wilhelm-Strauß-Straße, some of which are historical buildings, or the residential areas around the canal.
Its entrance will face the canal. This is a considerably more suitable place for an iconic, new address than the northern part of the plot with its many limitations.

Preserving and integrating the protected, high-grade chestnut tree at the canal is an important part of this endeavour. The new community centre will get its own façade and form a harmonious triad with the kindergarten and the youth centre.
One striking characteristic of the draft is its use of regional clinker bricks. They give the ceiling, walls and floor a homogeneous, sculptural appearance. The bold hues and haptic properties of Corten steel will mark the entrance of the community centre and guide passers-by into the building.

The key idea behind this draft is that of a community centre combined with the existing facilities of the church community. It will be an open, inviting centre that is designed to blend into the urban neighbourhood instead of competing with the structures on Wilhelm-Strauß-Straße, some of which are historical buildings, or the residential areas around the canal.
Its entrance will face the canal. This is a considerably more suitable place for an iconic, new address than the northern part of the plot with its many limitations.
Preserving and integrating the protected, high-grade chestnut tree at the canal is an important part of this endeavour. The new community centre will get its own façade and form a harmonious triad with the kindergarten and the youth centre.
One striking characteristic of the draft is its use of regional clinker bricks. They give the ceiling, walls and floor a homogeneous, sculptural appearance. The bold hues and haptic properties of Corten steel will mark the entrance of the community centre and guide passers-by into the building.

Storey 0

CLIENT
Evangelische Kirchengemeinde Rheydt

 

LOCATION
Mönchengladbach

 

TYPE OF BUILDING
Community centre

STATUS
Planned, 2012

VISUALIZATIONS
Schrammen Architekten BDA

CLIENT
Evangelische Kirchengemeinde Rheydt

 

LOCATION
Mönchengladbach

 

TYPE OF BUILDING
Community centre

 

STATUS
Planned, 2012

 

VISUALIZATIONS
Schrammen Architekten BDA

MORE PROJECTS

Share This

Evangelisches Gemeindezentrum

KULTUR

Kerngedanke dieses Entwurfes ist die Bildung eines Ensembles aus Gemeindehaus und bestehenden Einrichtungen der Kirchengemeinde. So entsteht ein zentraler Ort mit offenem, einladendem Charakter, der städtebaulich maßstäblich bleibt und nicht mit der zum Teil historischen Bausubstanz an der Wilhelm-Strauß-Straße oder der Wohnbebauung rund um die Gracht konkurriert.
Das Gebäude-Entrée liegt in Richtung Gracht. Dort kann sich eine eigene »Adresse« mit hohem Wiedererkennungswert und Signalwirkung entwickeln, besser als in dem mit vielen Begrenzungen belegten nördlichen Teil des Grundstücks.

 

Wichtig ist deshalb auch, die geschützte, hochwertige Esskastanie an der Gracht zu erhalten und zu integrieren. Das neue Gemeindehaus erhält ein eigenes Gesicht, gleichzeitig ergänzt es einen Dreiklang mit dem Kindergarten und dem Jugendhaus.
Markantes Merkmal des Entwurfes ist der regionale Klinker. Er prägt Decken, Wände und Boden, so dass das Gebäude homogen und skulptural wirkt. Ein weiteres wichtiges Material ist Cortenstahl, das mit seiner prägnanten Färbung und Haptik den Zugang zum Gemeindezentrum kennzeichnet und die Passanten in das Gebäude leitet.

Kerngedanke dieses Entwurfes ist die Bildung eines Ensembles aus Gemeindehaus und bestehenden Einrichtungen der Kirchengemeinde. So entsteht ein zentraler Ort mit offenem, einladendem Charakter, der städtebaulich maßstäblich bleibt und nicht mit der zum Teil historischen Bausubstanz an der Wilhelm-Strauß-Straße oder der Wohnbebauung rund um die Gracht konkurriert.
Das Gebäude-Entrée liegt in Richtung Gracht. Dort kann sich eine eigene »Adresse« mit hohem Wiedererkennungswert und Signalwirkung entwickeln, besser als in dem mit vielen Begrenzungen belegten nördlichen Teil des Grundstücks. Wichtig ist deshalb auch, die geschützte, hochwertige Esskastanie an der Gracht zu erhalten und zu integrieren. Das neue Gemeindehaus erhält ein eigenes Gesicht, gleichzeitig ergänzt es einen Dreiklang mit dem Kindergarten und dem Jugendhaus.
Markantes Merkmal des Entwurfes ist der regionale Klinker. Er prägt Decken, Wände und Boden, so dass das Gebäude homogen und skulptural wirkt. Ein weiteres wichtiges Material ist Cortenstahl, das mit seiner prägnanten Färbung und Haptik den Zugang zum Gemeindezentrum kennzeichnet und die Passanten in das Gebäude leitet.

Ebene 0

KUNDE
Evangelische Kirchengemeinde Rheydt

 

ORT
Mönchengladbach

 

GEBÄUDETYP
Gemeindezentrum

STATUS
Geplant, 2012

VISUALISIERUNGEN
Schrammen Architekten BDA

KUNDE
Evangelische Kirchengemeinde Rheydt

 

ORT
Mönchengladbach

 

GEBÄUDETYP
Gemeindezentrum

 

STATUS
Geplant, 2012

 

VISUALISIERUNGEN
Schrammen Architekten BDA

WEITERE PROJEKTE

Share This