St. Antony Hütte

CULTURE

The excavation of the St. Antony ironworks is making the industrial roots of the Ruhr area accessible to a wider public. To give visitors an impression of the dimensions of the old works, they have been incorporated inside a building, which also protects this fascinating archaeological site from vandalism and adverse weather conditions.
The basic idea in designing this kind of museum space is to take up the onsite materials. We selected opaline polycarbonate elements for the walls and roof, meaning the light from inside glows through the shell, illuminating the building attractively on the outside.

 

The image of a slagheap, which was photographed onsite and applied to the membrane that envelopes the building, creates interesting abstract impressions and relates the architecture to the region’s industrial history and culture.
Visitors move through the exhibition on a central catwalk of COR-TEN steel and a circumferential grid walkway. The old blast furnace is a visual highlight: the foundations are outlined in LED strip lights and steam rises from the middle, reminding us of the industrial production that used to carry on here. The eye-catching installation is visible from the road. Our aim is to use the advanced technology of our era to build a bridge between the present and the past.

The excavation of the St. Antony ironworks is making the industrial roots of the Ruhr area accessible to a wider public. To give visitors an impression of the dimensions of the old works, they have been incorporated inside a building, which also protects this fascinating archaeological site from vandalism and adverse weather conditions.
The basic idea in designing this kind of museum space is to take up the onsite materials. We selected opaline polycarbonate elements for the walls and roof, meaning the light from inside glows through the shell, illuminating the building attractively on the outside. The image of a slagheap, which was photographed onsite and applied to the membrane that envelopes the building, creates interesting abstract impressions and relates the architecture to the region’s industrial history and culture.
Visitors move through the exhibition on a central catwalk of COR-TEN steel and a circumferential grid walkway. The old blast furnace is a visual highlight: the foundations are outlined in LED strip lights and steam rises from the middle, reminding us of the industrial production that used to carry on here. The eye-catching installation is visible from the road. Our aim is to use the advanced technology of our era to build a bridge between the present and the past.

CLIENT

 

LOCATION
Oberhausen

 

TYPE OF BUILDING
Museum

STATUS
Planned, 2008

COMPETITION
2008, 3rd prize

VISUALISIERUNGEN
Schrammen Architekten BDA

CLIENT

 

LOCATION
Oberhausen

 

TYPE OF BUILDING
Museum

 

STATUS
Planned, 2008

 

COMPETITION
2008, 3rd prize

 

VISUALISIERUNGEN
Schrammen Architekten BDA

MORE PROJECTS

Share This

St. Antony Hütte

KULTUR

Anhand der Grabungsstätte »St. Antony Hütte« sollen einem breiten Publikum die Wurzeln der Ruhrindustrie zugänglich gemacht werden. Um dem Besucher einen Eindruck der Dimensionen der einstigen Hochofenanlage zu vermitteln, wurde das Volumen der ehemaligen St. Antony-Hütte aufgegriffen und in Gebäudeform transformiert. Hierdurch wird dem Bodendenkmal gleichermaßen
Schutz vor Witterung und Vandalismus geboten.
Grundgedanke für die Gestaltung des Raumes hinsichtlich einer musealen Erlebbarkeit ist es, die Materialität des Ortes aufzugreifen. Für Wände und Dach wählten wir opale Polycarbonatelemente, die das Gebäude durch die Lichtwirkung nach außen strahlen lassen.

 

Ein Blickfang wird geschaffen. Das vor Ort aufgenommene Foto eines Schlackerückstandes, als Folie auf die Membrane aufgezogen, erzeugt in der Abstraktion interessante Impressionen und Bezüge zwischen Architektur und Geschichte der Industriekultur.
Der Besucher wird über einen Steg aus Cortenstahl und einen Umgang aus Gitterrost
durch die Ausstellungsfläche geführt. Die Markierung des einstigen Hochofens bildet ein optisches Highlight. LED-Lichtleisten markieren die Umrisse im Boden. Aus der Mitte steigt Dampf auf und erzeugt eine Atmosphäre industrieller Produktion. Diese Installation bildet einen von der Straße einsehbaren Blickfang. Unser Ziel ist es, mit Mitteln unserer Zeit eine Brücke zwischen Gegenwart und Vergangenheit zu schlagen.

Anhand der Grabungsstätte »St. Antony Hütte« sollen einem breiten Publikum die Wurzeln der Ruhrindustrie zugänglich gemacht werden. Um dem Besucher einen Eindruck der Dimensionen der einstigen Hochofenanlage zu vermitteln, wurde das Volumen der ehemaligen St. Antony-Hütte aufgegriffen und in Gebäudeform transformiert. Hierdurch wird dem Bodendenkmal gleichermaßen
Schutz vor Witterung und Vandalismus geboten.
Grundgedanke für die Gestaltung des Raumes hinsichtlich einer musealen Erlebbarkeit ist es, die Materialität des Ortes aufzugreifen. Für Wände und Dach wählten wir opale Polycarbonatelemente, die das Gebäude durch die Lichtwirkung nach außen strahlen lassen. Ein Blickfang wird geschaffen. Das vor Ort aufgenommene Foto eines Schlackerückstandes, als Folie auf die Membrane aufgezogen, erzeugt in der Abstraktion interessante Impressionen und Bezüge zwischen Architektur und Geschichte der Industriekultur.
Der Besucher wird über einen Steg aus Cortenstahl und einen Umgang aus Gitterrost
durch die Ausstellungsfläche geführt. Die Markierung des einstigen Hochofens bildet ein optisches Highlight. LED-Lichtleisten markieren die Umrisse im Boden. Aus der Mitte steigt Dampf auf und erzeugt eine Atmosphäre industrieller Produktion. Diese Installation bildet einen von der Straße einsehbaren Blickfang. Unser Ziel ist es, mit Mitteln unserer Zeit eine Brücke zwischen Gegenwart und Vergangenheit zu schlagen.

KUNDE

 

ORT
Oberhausen

 

GEBÄUDETYP
Museum

STATUS
Geplant, 2008

WETTBEWERB
2008, 3. Preis

VISUALISIERUNGEN
Schrammen Architekten BDA

KUNDE

 

ORT
Oberhausen

 

GEBÄUDETYP
Museum

 

STATUS
Geplant, 2008

 

WETTBEWERB
2008, 3. Preis

 

VISUALISIERUNGEN
Schrammen Architekten BDA

WEITERE PROJEKTE

Share This