Roermonder Höfe

LIVING, OFFICE, URBAN SPACE

City centres attract people from all walks of life and with very different requirements. The new landmark at the foot of the Abteiberg is a striking response to this trend.
Seven detached houses with polygonal layouts form an attractive complex of residential and commercial buildings. Each has between four and seven stories. The concept draws on the Dutch approach to urban planning: instead of separating workplaces and residences from the public sphere, the public is brought into the quarter. The new quarter does not have a typical perimeter block structure. Instead, the buildings face the street in line with the existing north/south relation towards the centre. In the interior of the quarter, the staggered buildings are interlinked like fingers to create space for eight expansive courtyards. A public walking path runs diagonally through the complex. It traverses a landscaped garden of trees, paths, lawns and water that is designed as a reference to the former Gladbachtal valley.

The seven-storey commercial units face the Fliethstraße; their striking superstructures resemble colonnades. Residents, employees and visitors benefit from the daycare centre and the local restaurants facing the inner courtyard. The lower storeys of the buildings along the Fliethstraße offer ample parking for commercial tenants. At the same time, this row insulates the inner courtyards from the noise of the Fliethstraße to ensure a pleasantly quiet environment.
The residential buildings of Roermonder Höfe face the Lüpertzender Straße. All flats in the three four-storey houses will be barrier-free to ensure easy access for people with disabilities. The flats in the five-storey parts of the Fliethstraße buildings are also barrier-free and easily accessible. All residential buildings offer residents and their visitors direct access to one of the underground car parks.

City centres attract people from all walks of life and with very different requirements. The new landmark at the foot of the Abteiberg is a striking response to this trend.

Seven detached houses with polygonal layouts form an attractive complex of residential and commercial buildings. Each has between four and seven stories. The concept draws on the Dutch approach to urban planning: instead of separating workplaces and residences from the public sphere, the public is brought into the quarter. The new quarter does not have a typical perimeter block structure. Instead, the buildings face the street in line with the existing north/south relation towards the centre. In the interior of the quarter, the staggered buildings are interlinked like fingers to create space for eight expansive courtyards. A public walking path runs diagonally through the complex. It traverses a landscaped garden of trees, paths, lawns and water that is designed as a reference to the former Gladbachtal valley.

 

The seven-storey commercial units face the Fliethstraße; their striking superstructures resemble colonnades. Residents, employees and visitors benefit from the daycare centre and the local restaurants facing the inner courtyard. The lower storeys of the buildings along the Fliethstraße offer ample parking for commercial tenants. At the same time, this row insulates the inner courtyards from the noise of the Fliethstraße to ensure a pleasantly quiet environment.

The residential buildings of Roermonder Höfe face the Lüpertzender Straße. All flats in the three four-storey houses will be barrier-free to ensure easy access for people with disabilities. The flats in the five-storey parts of the Fliethstraße buildings are also barrier-free and easily accessible. All residential buildings offer residents and their visitors direct access to one of the underground car parks.

 

Seven detached houses with polygonal layouts
form an attractive complex of residential and
commercial buildings.

Sieben freistehende vier- bis siebengeschossige Gebäude mit polygonalen Grundrissen formieren sich zu einem Ensemble für Wohnen und Arbeiten.

Section view west

Section view east

Flexible and versatile offices

CLIENTS

»Mönchengladbach is a mere stone’s throw from the Netherlands, but they might as well be different worlds. Without Dr Schrammen, we would not have dared to take this big step, and it would certainly not have been successful without his help. It is not just a few paragraphs that are different – it is the entire mentality, all processes. To realise large-scale projects such as Roermonder Höfe and Steinmetzstraße, you need to know a city inside out. I first met Dr Schrammen at a trade fair in Amsterdam a few years ago. Our first major project together was not easy. Over the course of several years, we went through many stages and developed enormous trust in one another. I appreciate our partnership with Dr Schrammen tremendously.«


 

PIET VAN POL, MANAGING DIRECTOR

VAN POL BEHEER BV

schrammen.info, Architektur, Mönchengladbach
2019-08-27T17:09:41+02:00
»Mönchengladbach is a mere stone’s throw from the Netherlands, but they might as well be different worlds. Without Dr Schrammen, we would not have dared to take this big step, and it would certainly not have been successful without his help. It is not just a few paragraphs that are different – it is the entire mentality, all processes. To realise large-scale projects such as Roermonder Höfe and Steinmetzstraße, you need to know a city inside out. I first met Dr Schrammen at a trade fair in Amsterdam a few years ago. Our first major project together was not easy. Over the course of several years, we went through many stages and developed enormous trust in one another. I appreciate our partnership with Dr Schrammen tremendously.«   PIET VAN POL, MANAGING DIRECTOR VAN POL BEHEER BV

»The ROERMONDER HÖFE project is really special to us. We were very lucky that the market situation and the opportunities arising from the urban development of the area complemented each other so perfectly. The investor and the architect had a common goal for Roermonder Höfe: innovation. Our project raises the bar – not just for Mönchengladbach. Dr Schrammen has convinced me of the potential of the city. He has told me about its dynamism, its appetite for change and the good interplay of politics and the local economy. This is a rare combination.«


 

KLAUS NIEWÖHNER-PAPE, MANAGING DIRECTOR

INDUSTRIA WOHNEN

schrammen.info, Architektur, Mönchengladbach
2019-08-27T17:21:56+02:00
»The ROERMONDER HÖFE project is really special to us. We were very lucky that the market situation and the opportunities arising from the urban development of the area complemented each other so perfectly. The investor and the architect had a common goal for Roermonder Höfe: innovation. Our project raises the bar – not just for Mönchengladbach. Dr Schrammen has convinced me of the potential of the city. He has told me about its dynamism, its appetite for change and the good interplay of politics and the local economy. This is a rare combination.«   KLAUS NIEWÖHNER-PAPE, MANAGING DIRECTOR INDUSTRIA WOHNEN
0
0
schrammen.info, Architektur, Mönchengladbach

CLIENT
Gondo Immobilien

 

LOCATION
Mönchengladbach

 

TYPE OF BUILDING
Residential and commercial buildings,
restaurants, daycare centre

PROJECT DEVELOPER
Schrammen Architekten BDA

 

STATUS
Completed, 2018

COMPETITION
2012, 1st prize

 

AWARDS
2020, German Design Award Winner

VISUALIZATIONS
Schrammen Architekten BDA

 

PHOTOS
Jens Willebrand

CLIENT
Gondo Immobilien

 

LOCATION
Mönchengladbach

 

TYPE OF BUILDING
Residential and commercial buildings,
restaurants, daycare centre

 

PROJECT DEVELOPER
Schrammen Architekten BDA

 

STATUS
Completed, 2018

 

COMPETITION
2012, 1st prize

 

AWARDS
2020, German Design Award Winner

 

VISUALIZATIONS
Schrammen Architekten BDA

 

PHOTOS
Jens Willebrand

MORE PROJECTS

Share This

Roermonder Höfe

BÜRO, STADTRAUM, WOHNEN

Menschen mit sehr unterschiedlichen Bedürfnissen zieht es in die Innenstädte. Auf diesen Trend bietet die neue Landmarke am Fuße des Mönchengladbacher Abteibergs eine städtebaulich markante Antwort.
Sieben freistehende vier- bis siebengeschossige Gebäude mit polygonalen Grundrissen formieren sich zu einem Ensemble für Wohnen und Arbeiten. Das Konzept importiert die niederländische Städtebau-Philosophie, Wohnen und Arbeiten nicht von der Öffentlichkeit abzuschotten, sondern das Leben in das Quartier hinein zu holen. Das neue Viertel hat keine übliche Blockrandbebauung. Stattdessen richten sich die Baukörper mit ihren Kopfseiten zur Straße hin aus und nehmen die bestehende Nord-Süd-Beziehung in Richtung Zentrum auf. Im Innenbereich greifen die versetzten Gebäude fingerartig ineinander und schaffen auf diese Weise den Erlebnisraum für acht großzügige Hofsituationen. Zudem gibt es einen diagonal verlaufenden Spazierweg, der öffentlich zugänglich ist. Er zitiert mit einer landschaftsgärtnerischen Komposition aus Bäumen, Wege-, Wiesen- und Wasserflächen das einstige Gladbachtal.

Die Gewerbeeinheiten orientieren sich zur Fliethstraße hin. Mit ihrer kolonnadenartigen Überbauung zeigen sie ein prägnantes siebengeschossiges Gesicht. Anwohner, Mitarbeiter und Besucher können von der zum Innenhof liegenden Kindertagesstätte und der Quartiersgastronomie profitieren.
Längs der Fliethstraße zieht sich ein Parkhaus durch die unteren Geschosse, das den gewerblichen Mietern ausreichend Stellfläche bietet. Zugleich entkoppelt der Längsriegel die Innenhöfe akustisch von der Fliethstraße und trägt somit zu einer angenehmen Ruhe in den Innenhöfen bei.
Das private Wohngesicht der Roermonder Höfe weist zur Lüpertzender Straße hin. Durchgängig barrierefrei erreichbare Wohnungen entstehen in den drei viergeschossigen Mehrfamilienhäusern. Auch die Wohnungen in den auf fünf Geschosse abgestuften Teilen der Fliethstraßen-Gebäude zum Innenhof hin sind barrierefrei. Alle Wohngebäude haben einen direkten Zugang zu einer der beiden Tiefgaragen für Bewohner und ihre Besucher.

Menschen mit sehr unterschiedlichen Bedürfnissen zieht es in die Innenstädte. Auf diesen Trend bietet die neue Landmarke am Fuße des Mönchengladbacher Abteibergs eine städtebaulich markante Antwort.
Sieben freistehende vier- bis siebengeschossige Gebäude mit polygonalen Grundrissen formieren sich zu einem Ensemble für Wohnen und Arbeiten. Das Konzept importiert die niederländische Städtebau-Philosophie, Wohnen und Arbeiten nicht von der Öffentlichkeit abzuschotten, sondern das Leben in das Quartier hinein zu holen. Das neue Viertel hat keine übliche Blockrandbebauung. Stattdessen richten sich die Baukörper mit ihren Kopfseiten zur Straße hin aus und nehmen die bestehende Nord-Süd-Beziehung in Richtung Zentrum auf. Im Innenbereich greifen die versetzten Gebäude fingerartig ineinander und schaffen auf diese Weise den Erlebnisraum für acht großzügige Hofsituationen. Zudem gibt es einen diagonal verlaufenden Spazierweg, der öffentlich zugänglich ist. Er zitiert mit einer landschaftsgärtnerischen Komposition aus Bäumen, Wege-, Wiesen- und Wasserflächen das einstige Gladbachtal.

 

Die Gewerbeeinheiten orientieren sich zur Fliethstraße hin. Mit ihrer kolonnadenartigen Überbauung zeigen sie ein prägnantes siebengeschossiges Gesicht. Anwohner, Mitarbeiter und Besucher können von der zum Innenhof liegenden Kindertagesstätte und der Quartiersgastronomie profitieren.
Längs der Fliethstraße zieht sich ein Parkhaus durch die unteren Geschosse, das den gewerblichen Mietern ausreichend Stellfläche bietet. Zugleich entkoppelt der Längsriegel die Innenhöfe akustisch von der Fliethstraße und trägt somit zu einer angenehmen Ruhe in den Innenhöfen bei.
Das private Wohngesicht der Roermonder Höfe weist zur Lüpertzender Straße hin. Durchgängig barrierefrei erreichbare Wohnungen entstehen in den drei viergeschossigen Mehrfamilienhäusern. Auch die Wohnungen in den auf fünf Geschosse abgestuften Teilen der Fliethstraßen-Gebäude zum Innenhof hin sind barrierefrei. Alle Wohngebäude haben einen direkten Zugang zu einer der beiden Tiefgaragen für Bewohner und ihre Besucher.

Sieben freistehende vier- bis siebengeschossige Gebäude
mit polygonalen Grundrissen formieren sich zu einem Ensemble
für Wohnen und Arbeiten.

Sieben freistehende vier- bis siebengeschossige Gebäude mit polygonalen Grundrissen formieren sich zu einem Ensemble für Wohnen und Arbeiten.

Schnittansicht West

Schnittansicht Ost

Flexible und varibale Büroformen

KUNDEN

»Bei den ROERMONDER HÖFEN hatten Investor und Architekt ein gemeinsames Ziel: Innovation. Darum setzt dieses Projekt nicht nur für Mönchengladbach Maßstäbe. Dr. Schrammen hat mich von der Stadt überzeugt. Er hat mir von der Dynamik, der Aufbruchstimmung und dem guten Miteinander von Politik und Wirtschaft erzählt. So etwas findet man nur ganz selten.«


 

KLAUS NIEWÖHNER-PAPE, GESCHÄFTSFÜHRER
INDUSTRIA WOHNEN

2019-06-20T17:40:29+02:00
»Bei den ROERMONDER HÖFEN hatten Investor und Architekt ein gemeinsames Ziel: Innovation. Darum setzt dieses Projekt nicht nur für Mönchengladbach Maßstäbe. Dr. Schrammen hat mich von der Stadt überzeugt. Er hat mir von der Dynamik, der Aufbruchstimmung und dem guten Miteinander von Politik und Wirtschaft erzählt. So etwas findet man nur ganz selten.«   KLAUS NIEWÖHNER-PAPE, GESCHÄFTSFÜHRER INDUSTRIA WOHNEN

»Es ist ein Katzensprung von den Niederlanden nach Mönchengladbach – und doch sind es Welten. Wir hätten diesen Sprung ohne Dr. Schrammen nie gewagt und auch auf keinen Fall geschafft. Es geht nicht nur um ein paar Paragraphen, die anders sind, sondern um die Abläufe und die Mentalität. Man muss eine Stadt gut kennen und verstehen, um Projekte von der Größe wie die Roermonder Höfe oder die Steinmetzstraße zu realisieren. Ich habe Dr. Schrammen vor einigen Jahren auf einer Messe in Amsterdam kennengelernt. Das erste große Projekt, was wir umgesetzt haben, war nicht einfach. Wir haben über mehrere Jahre gemeinsam viele Phasen durchlebt und dabei ein gewaltiges Vertrauen entwickelt. Ich schätze die Zusammenarbeit mit Dr. Schrammen außerordentlich.«


 

PIET VAN POL, GESCHÄFTSFÜHRER
VAN POL BEHEER BV

2019-08-02T14:04:41+02:00
»Es ist ein Katzensprung von den Niederlanden nach Mönchengladbach – und doch sind es Welten. Wir hätten diesen Sprung ohne Dr. Schrammen nie gewagt und auch auf keinen Fall geschafft. Es geht nicht nur um ein paar Paragraphen, die anders sind, sondern um die Abläufe und die Mentalität. Man muss eine Stadt gut kennen und verstehen, um Projekte von der Größe wie die Roermonder Höfe oder die Steinmetzstraße zu realisieren. Ich habe Dr. Schrammen vor einigen Jahren auf einer Messe in Amsterdam kennengelernt. Das erste große Projekt, was wir umgesetzt haben, war nicht einfach. Wir haben über mehrere Jahre gemeinsam viele Phasen durchlebt und dabei ein gewaltiges Vertrauen entwickelt. Ich schätze die Zusammenarbeit mit Dr. Schrammen außerordentlich.«   PIET VAN POL, GESCHÄFTSFÜHRER VAN POL BEHEER BV

KUNDE
Gondo Immobilien

 

ORT
Mönchengladbach

 

GEBÄUDETYP
Wohn- und Geschäftshäuser,
Gastronomie, Kindertagesstätte

PROJEKTENTWICKLUNG
Schrammen Architekten BDA

 

STATUS
Fertiggestellt, 2018

WETTBEWERB
2012, 1. Preis

 

AUSZEICHNUNG
2020, German Design Award Winner

VISUALISIERUNGEN
Schrammen Architekten BDA

 

FOTOS
Jens Willebrand

KUNDE
Gondo Immobilien

 

ORT
Mönchengladbach

 

GEBÄUDETYP
Wohn- und Geschäftshäuser,
Gastronomie, Kindertagesstätte

 

PROJEKTENTWICKLUNG
Schrammen Architekten BDA

 

STATUS
Fertiggestellt, 2018

 

WETTBEWERB
2012, 1. Preis

 

AUSZEICHNUNG
2020, German Design Award Winner

 

VISUALISIERUNGEN
Schrammen Architekten BDA

 

FOTOS
Jens Willebrand

WEITERE PROJEKTE

Share This