Asmat Museum

CULTURE, EDUCATION

Inspired by a dugout canoe, this building will merge tradition and modernity in the jungles of New Guinea. The museum of the Asmat people, whose name translates to »People of the Tree«, will serve two primary purposes. It will protect the heritage of a rich, ancient culture, and it will shape the future productivity of the population by offering education and medical support. The draft has been inspired by the intriguing culture of the Asmat.

Their land consists of mangroves, swamps and rivers, and trees are of central importance to their way of life. Our draft is a reference to dugout canoes, which the Asmat use as a primary means of transport, and the elevated stilt or tree houses in which they live. We have designed an elongated, striped building that rests on three pillars representing the education, culture and health offers available inside. The elongated element houses the museum.

Inspired by a dugout canoe, this building will merge tradition and modernity in the jungles of New Guinea. The museum of the Asmat people, whose name translates to »People of the Tree«, will serve two primary purposes. It will protect the heritage of a rich, ancient culture, and it will shape the future productivity of the population by offering education and medical support. The draft has been inspired by the intriguing culture of the Asmat. Their land consists of mangroves, swamps and rivers, and trees are of central importance to their way of life. Our draft is a reference to dugout canoes, which the Asmat use as a primary means of transport, and the elevated stilt or tree houses in which they live. We have designed an elongated, striped building that rests on three pillars representing the education, culture and health offers available inside. The elongated element houses the museum.

The draft has been inspired by the intriguing culture of the Asmat.
»People of the Tree«.

The draft has been inspired by the intriguing culture of the Asmat. »People of the Tree«.

CLIENT

 

LOCATION
Neuguinea

 

TYPE OF BUILDING
Museum

STATUS
Planned, 2011

COMPETITION
2011, 1st prize

VISUALIZATIONS
Schrammen Architekten BDA

CLIENT

 

LOCATION
Neuguinea

 

TYPE OF BUILDING
Museum

 

STATUS
Planned, 2011

 

COMPETITION
2011, 1st prize

 

VISUALIZATIONS
Schrammen Architekten BDA

MORE PROJECTS

Share This

Asmat Museum

BILDUNG, KULTUR

Dieser Plan nimmt den Einbaum als Vorbild für ein Gebäude, das mitten in der Urwaldlandschaft von Neuguinea Tradition und Moderne verbindet. Das Museum der Asmat, was übersetzt »Das Volk des Baumes« heißt, soll vor allem zwei Funktionen gerecht werden: Zum einen bewahrt es die Zeugnisse einer alten und reichen Kultur. Zum anderen gibt es Impulse für die zukünftige schöpferische Leistung der Bevölkerung, durch Angebote für Bildung und medizinische Beratung. Der Entwurf ist inspiriert von der faszinierenden Kultur des Volkes.

Für die Asmat, die in einer von Sumpf und Flusslabyrinthen geprägten Urwaldlandschaft leben, haben Bäume zentrale Bedeutung. Der Plan nimmt Bezug auf den Einbaum, das Bewegungs- und Transportmittel der Asmat, sowie auf die erhöhte Bauweise der Häuser, die auf Stelzen stehen oder hoch im Baum sind. Es entsteht ein langgezogenes, gestreiftes Gebäude, das erhöht auf drei Stützen ruht, die für Bildung, Kultur und Gesundheit stehen und innerhalb dieser Themen Angebote bereitstellen. Im langgezogenen Baukörper ist Raum für das Museum.

Dieser Plan nimmt den Einbaum als Vorbild für ein Gebäude, das mitten in der Urwaldlandschaft von Neuguinea Tradition und Moderne verbindet. Das Museum der Asmat, was übersetzt »Das Volk des Baumes« heißt, soll vor allem zwei Funktionen gerecht werden: Zum einen bewahrt es die Zeugnisse einer alten und reichen Kultur. Zum anderen gibt es Impulse für die zukünftige schöpferische Leistung der Bevölkerung, durch Angebote für Bildung und medizinische Beratung. Der Entwurf ist inspiriert von der faszinierenden Kultur des Volkes. Für die Asmat, die in einer von Sumpf und Flusslabyrinthen geprägten Urwaldlandschaft leben, haben Bäume zentrale Bedeutung. Der Plan nimmt Bezug auf den Einbaum, das Bewegungs- und Transportmittel der Asmat, sowie auf die erhöhte Bauweise der Häuser, die auf Stelzen stehen oder hoch im Baum sind. Es entsteht ein langgezogenes, gestreiftes Gebäude, das erhöht auf drei Stützen ruht, die für Bildung, Kultur und Gesundheit stehen und innerhalb dieser Themen Angebote bereitstellen. Im langgezogenen Baukörper ist Raum für das Museum.

Der Entwurf ist inspiriert von der faszinierenden Kultur des Volkes.
»Das Volk des Baumes«.

Der Entwurf ist inspiriert von der faszinierenden Kultur des Volkes. »Das Volk des Baumes«.

KUNDE

 

ORT
Neuguinea

 

GEBÄUDETYP
Museum

STATUS
Geplant, 2011

WETTBEWERB
2011, 1. Preis

VISUALISIERUNGEN
Schrammen Architekten BDA

KUNDE

 

ORT
Neuguinea

 

GEBÄUDETYP
Museum

 

STATUS
Geplant, 2011

 

WETTBEWERB
2011, 1. Preis

 

VISUALISIERUNGEN
Schrammen Architekten BDA

WEITERE PROJEKTE

Share This