Irmgardisstift Nursing Care Home

LIVING

This draft will add an atrium expansion to the Irmgardisstift nursing care home. It will integrate the park into the facilities. The new building will expand the listed care home in consideration of the local conditions. In structure and design, the atrium building is inspired by the old building without attempting to compete with it.
The nursing care home is an object situated in the park and incorporated into its landscape. It is playfully surrounded by the park, which extends into the atrium.

This sends a clear signal for communication with the environment. Each of the individual, overlapping buildings will consolidate a compact number of rooms into a residential community. With its four-storey configuration, the expansion will take the existing structures into consideration and stand subordinate to the dominating old building. A spacious entrance hall will provide access to the nursing care home and establish a link between the old and the new building.

This draft will add an atrium expansion to the Irmgardisstift nursing care home. It will integrate the park into the facilities. The new building will expand the listed care home in consideration of the local conditions. In structure and design, the atrium building is inspired by the old building without attempting to compete with it.
The nursing care home is an object situated in the park and incorporated into its landscape. It is playfully surrounded by the park, which extends into the atrium. This sends a clear signal for communication with the environment. Each of the individual, overlapping buildings will consolidate a compact number of rooms into a residential community. With its four-storey configuration, the expansion will take the existing structures into consideration and stand subordinate to the dominating old building. A spacious entrance hall will provide access to the nursing care home and establish a link between the old and the new building.

CLIENT
Deutscher Caritasverband

 

LOCATION
Viersen

 

TYPE OF BUILDING
Nursing care home

STATUS
Planned, 2009

COMPETITION
2009, 1st prize

VISUALIZATIONS
Schrammen Architekten BDA

CLIENT
Deutscher Caritasverband

 

LOCATION
Viersen

 

TYPE OF BUILDING
Nursing care home

 

STATUS
Planned, 2009

 

COMPETITION
2009, 1st prize

 

VISUALIZATIONS
Schrammen Architekten BDA

MORE PROJECTS

Share This

Altenheim Irmgardisstift

WOHNEN

Dieser Entwurf erweitert das Altenheim Irmgardisstift durch ein Atrium. Er lässt den Park zum Teil der Einrichtung werden. Der Neubau ergänzt das denkmalgeschützte Altenheim, indem es die Gegebenheiten des Ortes berücksichtigt. Das Atriumgebäude orientiert sich in Struktur und Gestik an dem Altbau, ohne in Konkurrenz zu ihm zu treten.
Das Altenheim versteht sich als Objekt im Park, das sich mit der Landschaft verzahnt. Der Park umspielt das Gebäude und wird bis in das Atrium hineingezogen.

 

Das setzt ein deutliches Zeichen für die Kommunikation mit der Umgebung. Die einzelnen sich überschneidenden Baukörper fassen jeweils eine übersichtliche Anzahl von Zimmern zu einer Bewohnergemeinschaft zusammen. Dabei orientiert sich der Neubau auch maßstäblich am Bestand und ordnet sich mit seiner viergeschossigen Kubatur deutlich dem dominierenden Altbau unter. Eine großzügige Eingangshalle wird zum Entree in das Altenheim. Sie ist das Bindeglied zwischen dem Bestand und dem Neubau.

Dieser Entwurf erweitert das Altenheim Irmgardisstift durch ein Atrium. Er lässt den Park zum Teil der Einrichtung werden. Der Neubau ergänzt das denkmalgeschützte Altenheim, indem es die Gegebenheiten des Ortes berücksichtigt. Das Atriumgebäude orientiert sich in Struktur und Gestik an dem Altbau, ohne in Konkurrenz zu ihm zu treten.
Das Altenheim versteht sich als Objekt im Park, das sich mit der Landschaft verzahnt. Der Park umspielt das Gebäude und wird bis in das Atrium hineingezogen. Das setzt ein deutliches Zeichen für die Kommunikation mit der Umgebung. Die einzelnen sich überschneidenden Baukörper fassen jeweils eine übersichtliche Anzahl von Zimmern zu einer Bewohnergemeinschaft zusammen. Dabei orientiert sich der Neubau auch maßstäblich am Bestand und ordnet sich mit seiner viergeschossigen Kubatur deutlich dem dominierenden Altbau unter. Eine großzügige Eingangshalle wird zum Entree in das Altenheim. Sie ist das Bindeglied zwischen dem Bestand und dem Neubau.

KUNDE
Deutscher Caritasverband

 

ORT
Viersen

 

GEBÄUDETYP
Altenpflegeheim

STATUS
Geplant, 2009

WETTBEWERB
2009, 1. Preis

VISUALISIERUNGEN
Schrammen Architekten BDA

KUNDE
Deutscher Caritasverband

 

ORT
Viersen

 

GEBÄUDETYP
Altenpflegeheim

 

STATUS
Geplant, 2009

 

WETTBEWERB
2009, 1. Preis

 

VISUALISIERUNGEN
Schrammen Architekten BDA

WEITERE PROJEKTE

Share This